Beta Performance

A couple of you have asked, so thought it’d be worth a post. During the final beta it seemed many performance optimisations were yet to be made. I experienced no lag unlike the first beta weekend, however reports suggest FPS is inconsistent across different setups.

I got around 20fps on a Core 2 Duo @ 2.66GHz, 4GB RAM and a 5770 graphics card, better in quiet spots, far worse in big event battles. I expect this to improve, but maybe not by launch…

ArenaNet have said very little on this, but during a Reddit AMA, answers essentially suggested better performance comes with a higher CPU clock, rather than number of cores or graphics card, so if your CPU is as good or better than mine, expect it to be fine enough!

This entry was posted in Info. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beta Performance

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Adam

    What settings were you using? Res, quality etc?

    • Adam says:

      1920×1080 with the settings slider dragged one notch down from maximum. During the betas changing settings seemed to have minimal impact on performance, my almost-maxed settings performed as well as dragging to lowest quality. I’ll update after the stress test tomorrow if anything’s better!

      • Adam says:

        As promised, the latest post – the stress test gallery – includes a performance update. In short, with the slider to maximum this time, it felt roughly the same at around 20fps.

  2. Rothgar Remorhaz says:

    I have noticed two potential problems which may have been slowing down my system wrt GW2 – memory modules not in dual channel config and harddrive needed a serious defrag.

    Will test the efficacy of the remedial actions tonight – see wot it did. However, as Anet has also made some changes that will mean 3 changes to the parameters within a “closed” system – scientifically nobbled me self, observations useless probably. It is something to think about tho’.

    • Adam says:

      Fingers crossed you see an improvement! On my old PC I could hear the hard drive chugging away in big battles, presumably rushing to load textures for all the characters joining in, so a defrag may well help 🙂

  3. Rothgar Remorhaz says:

    Old PC now causing probs so this is my chance!! Just ordered my new PC but will be a while – deliver to UK then DHL but should not be too long after start.
    I think the same as your new one Adam –
    i5 3570k, HD7950, 8GB Ram.
    Hoping I get 60fps on max details.

    • Adam says:

      Cool! Congrats 😀 that’s actually slightly better than my 3570k and 7870, so I’m sure like me you’ll be amazed how it feels almost a different game when it’s smooth 🙂

Leave a Reply

